St. Mathew's Mar Thoma Church Awake Youth

In the same way, let your light shine before others, that they may see your good deeds and glorify your Father in heaven.” Mathew 5:16

 

The youth group of the St. Mathew’s Mar Thoma Church (SMMTC) is a small, yet strong group dedicated to strengthening and maintaining a solid relationship with church and God. We are a spirited group, blessed with numerous talents that consist over 200 members between the ages 13 and 35, and growing every year! We  call ourselves ‘Awake Youth’ based on the exhortation from Ephesians 5:14, “Wake up, sleeper, rise from the dead, and Christ will shine on you.” We see this as a new way of thinking and a new means for us to live, worship and gather together in Christ.

https://ssl.gstatic.com/ui/v1/icons/mail/images/cleardot.gif

Every third Sunday is Youth Sunday at SMMTC, where we lead the congregation in Praise & Worship and assist Achen during the Holy Communion Service. Outside of church, the Awake Youth coordinates several events including prayer meetings, outreach events, retreats, semi-formals, picnics and other church activities for our youth members to attend, bond and worship together.

 

Our youth group has grown over the years, and we consider ourselves as a family that always supports each other. We have started a successful initiative to close the age barrier between our younger and older youth members. This mentorship program allows each of the the older youths to guide a small handful of younger youth members. Each group frequently meets to discuss their daily challenges and to provide each other with necessary support and guidance. SMMTC also organizes musicals with the leadership of the youth group. We use these opportunities to praise God with our talents and to actively work together as one. We hope and pray that our youth fellowship will continue to stay strong and grow in the years to come.

 

Our youth are led by a committee who are elected every year. This year’s team include:

   

    • President: Rev. Moncy Varghese Achen (revmoncy79@gmail.com)
    • Vice President: Renu Eapen (renu.eapen01@gmail.com)
    • Senior Advisor: Jasmine Cherian (jasmine.s.cherian@gmail.com)
    • Senior Advisor: Jason John (jasonjohn@hotmail.ca)
    • Secretary:Jibin Jacob (jibin.jacob@mail.com)
    • Co Secretary:Mabin Mathew (mabinbiju@gmail.com)
    • Treasurer: Shobith Raju (shobith_raju13@live.com)
    • Auditor: Sarah Panampunna (sarahpanam12@yahoo.ca)
    • Praise & Worship Coordinators:
        • Asha Koshy (spicyrachel@hotmail.com)
        • Nathania George (nathania.george@gmail.com)
    • Youth Service & Prayer Meeting Coordinator: Sheryn Varghese (sherynvarghese@gmail.com)
    • Outreach Coordinator: Karen Oommen (karenoommen@gmail.com)
    • Brampton Area Representatives:
        • Kathleen Oommen (kathleen_oommen@hotmail.com)
        • Ruth Benoy (smilealot21chaching@gmail.com)
        • Alen Daniel (alen.r.daniel@gmail.com)
    • Mississauga Area Representatives:
      • Timothy Cherian (timothycherian@gmail.com)
    • Toronto Area Representative: Alan Mathew (mathewalan038@gmail.com)
    • Kitchener & Waterloo Area Representative: Sandra Salu (sandra.salu@hotmail.com)
    • Milton & Outskirts Area Representative: Sandra Siby  (sandraezcb@gmail.com)

  

If there are any questions, please feel free to contact our Secretary at awakeyouth@gmail.com.